**Blushes** I’ve been liebstered.

Well, you could knock me down with a feather. The wonderful 1catholicsalmon has generously put me up for a Liebster Award! I am beetroot with blushing. Do go read that soothing blog if you have not already: it is gentler than mine, and reflects balanced Catholicism at its best.

liebster

The Liebster Award seems to be a way for small-scale bloggers to recognise and encourage other small-scale bloggers. It is an award that carries responsibilities, and not some mere frippery. So on to my happy duties.

The requirements for accepting this award are:

1) Post the Liebster award graphic on your site. Done
2) Thank the blogger who nominated the blog for a Liebster Award and link back to their blog. Done, but inadequately I fear
3) The blogger then writes 11 facts about themselves so people who discover their blog through the Liebster post will learn more about them.

(i)  I am 44 years young (yes, I know – who am I kidding?).
(ii)  I am Australian by birth, but have dual nationality by law.
(iii)  I was once a Jesuit, though not for long!
(iv)  I can eat almost anything but offal.
(v)  My favourite job “in the world” was with Police Communications Branch in Sydney. Still miss it…
(vi)  Somehow I have managed to study in 3 different countries. What a world…
(vii)  Uncomfortably for a monk, I am a night person.
(viii)  I take sugar in coffee and tea. I am an unreformed Benedictine…
(ix)  What frightened me most when first preparing for priesthood was preaching.
(x)  I am a Pope Benedict XVI Catholic (in case you haven’t guessed!)
(xi)  My guilty pleasure is the works of Frederick Rolfe, Baron Corvo – Hadrian VII is amazing!

4) In addition to posting 11 fun facts about themselves (oh dear, they were supposed to be fun… now they tell me!), nominated bloggers should also answer the 11 questions from the post of the person who nominated them.

Not 11, but only pedants keep score!

  • What inspired you to start blogging?  It was partly from a need to be involved in spreading sound Catholic teaching, however small my circle, and partly as self-imposed therapy!
  • Religious leader you admire? Most admire maybe? Definitely Benedict XVI.
  • Do you think having pets changes you? Sadly I never had one; but my brother’s dog Amba never fails to fill me with joy so if that counts as change…
  • Is family important and why? Family is important for so many reasons, but the first that comes to mind is that it is where we first learn to love and to forgive.
  • Do you pray regularly? Yes, but not sufficiently.
  • Why is your Christian witness important? If it is actually important, I hope that it occasionally strengthens a fellow Christian or two and reminds them they are not alone in orthodox Catholicism. Perhaps some find it easier to ask me than their local parish priest.
  • Do you think Jesus’ message is radical? Well, yes. It cuts to the root (radix) of our existence and our destiny. No cross, no salvation.
  • What’s the favourite habit of your parish priest? Well, I do not have a parish priest as a monk, but I do have an abbot. And his favourite habit is reading.

5) The nominated blogger will in turn, nominate 9 other blogs with 200 or less followers (We’re guessing for our nominees) for a Liebster award by posting a comment on their blog and linking back to the Liebster post. This is tough: I can guess the obviously big blogs but some of the other ones can have more followers than might seem obvious, and some of my choices have already been Liebstered. Anyway…

  1. http://badvestments.blogspot.co.uk - he’s been quiet of late but if you like watching the liturgical equivalent of car wrecks, this is your blog.
  2. http://marklambert.blogspot.com - calm, reasonable, faithful
  3. http://australiaincognita.blogspot.co.uk - some straight talking from Kate in the land Down Under, unflinchingly Catholic
  4. http://forestmurmurs.blogspot.com – a tradition-minded parish priest in the north-east of England: a clerical foot-soldier’s perspective
  5. http://lmschairman.org – a philisopher faithful to the Church and the classical Roman Rite with a broad outlook and razor-sharp analysis
  6. http://restlesspilgrim.net – a Pommie Catholic boy in America’s classiest city who enjoys his Catholicism
  7. http://scecclesia.com – a thoughtful Australian convert who has brought the best of his Lutheran patrimony with him
  8. http://vexilla-regis.blogspot.com – a faithful Catholic layman in northern Sydney making his voice heard
  9. http://adriansharp.wordpress.com - a priest fresh from higher studies now teaching and priesting in Brisbane archdiocese
  10. http://catholiccravings.wordpress.com – another convert, young and ladylike in my home town

6) The nominated blogger will create 11 questions for their nominated blogs to answer in their Liebster post.

  1. Who inspires you most?
  2. Your favourite saint?
  3. In an ideal world, who should be Pope?
  4. Monarchist, republican or something else?
  5. Your favourite theologian?
  6. Beer, wine or spirits?
  7. Your favourite cartoon character?
  8. One thing you would change at Mass?
  9. Where else would you live if you could?
  10. Where should Benedict XVI spend his retirement?
  11. Should Pope Francis call Vatican III?
14 thoughts on “**Blushes** I’ve been liebstered.

  1. I have only been reading your blog for a short while, and my usual fare is “adoptive mother blogs”, so this is a bit off my beaten track – but I LOVE your blog, and felt so lucky that I had your comments to help me think about the loss of our former Pope and the election of our new one. You deserve to be awarded!

    But, what an award!!! I loved the “fun facts” (they were fun for me). I got slightly gleeful when I saw that the first blog you awarded was “badvestments” which I stumbled on a year or so ago via a dear former parish priest. So glad you get a [horrified] chuckle out of that one, too. Now, I am confident that I would also love your other nine choices – and I really, really like your questions, but……sad to say, I cannot commit to reading any more blogs. However, if I do…..I will head toward one of your suggestions….and I’ll begin by reading their responses to your questions!

    Congratulations!

    Like this

    • Fr Hugh says:

      Well, Annie, I am mighty glad you can find time to read my little blog. But you make a pertinent point: there are so many (good) blogs out there it is hard to keep up with them all. That is why I am a user of Google Reader – it makes it easy to skim read, and then concentrate on the ones that grab my interest or relate to trending topics.

      Ah Bad Vestments… you couldn’t make it up!

      pax.

      Like this

  2. Br. Tony Jukes, S.S.S. says:

    Yes, heartiest congratulations, Fr. Hugh. What a nice Easter pressy. Must say I’ve never heard of the Liebster Award. Most interesting that you were once an S.J. !! even though it was a short time. High circles indeed, Father. Paschal joys!

    Like this

    • Fr Hugh says:

      Oh Br Tony – high circles….maybe; low church – definitely! We all have skeletons in our proverbials, and mine is my Jesuit past. Just two years with them, starting aged 19. I do value the 10 years of education they gave me at school in Sydney – I still love and am close to St Aloysius’ College.

      I hope you had a worthy swag of Easter joys and chocolates yourself. Make it last the whole Octave!

      Pax.

      Like this

  3. Well deserved! Well deserved. Thanks you for your recommendations, I’ll be looking at these shortly.

    Like this

  4. “Uncomfortably for a monk, I am a night person.” Sigh. Yes. My former abbess told her abbess when she entered that she was a night person but declared boldly that she would become a morning person. Her abbess smiled ruefully and told her that it didn’t work like that!

    Congratulations on the award!

    Like this

    • Fr Hugh says:

      Dear Macrina,

      That old abbess was oh so right. Once an owl, always an owl, and we must suffer the incomprehension of the larks. Something to ffer up I guess.

      The happiest of Easters to you.

      Pax!

      Like this

  5. [...] **Blushes** I’ve been liebstered. (hughosb.wordpress.com) [...]

    Like this

  6. Justin says:

    Thank you so much for blogging. Congrats on the award. I love reading your blog and together with Godzdogz, it is my favourite Catholic blog.

    Still in shock that you are an ex-Jesuit!!! :O

    Like this

    • Fr Hugh says:

      Bless you! And I felt I needed to let the SJ skeleton out of the closet. I was very young back then, and the Jesuits had taught me so well at school. We all have a past; but even better, in Christ we all have a future!

      Like this

  7. [...] **Blushes** I’ve been liebstered. (hughosb.wordpress.com) [...]

    Like this

  8. CM Yap says:

    Hi Fr. Hugh, congratulations! I am ‘new visitor’ to your postings (this one and the photographs) and have found in them much food for thought and reflection. Thank you and God bless.

    Like this

Leave a Reply

