A novena and an omen

Yesterday afternoon two more lambs were born, which makes 7 in three days, and 9 in total – an ovine novena. Alas I only heard yesterday’s twins had arrived after dark, so after a fretful night I went out, after an earlier breakfast, through the sun-pierced fog and across crunching frost hoping for the best. And it was granted. A first time mother, Josephine, had given birth to a loud twin-set of lungs on legs. After her panic as I┬áhoisted┬áthe lambs into the nursery pen, she followed us in and calmed down to the point of serenity. Having docked the lambs’ tails, and realised I had yet two more boys, I had a little play with the lads before they fed from mother while she wolfed down some barley (all photos should enlarge on being clicked): Feeding on all frontsIn light of the papal theme, it seemed apropos to name these two after the two most favoured papabili for the upcoming conclave. Our new albino boy, Angelo, declared approval: Angelo roarsHis brother, Marc, looked equally pleased, though he was forced to keep quiet by his more urgent need to lick his lips after downing a warming draught of mother’s best: Lip-licking goodWhen I let in the others, who were all waiting expectantly by the gate, there was a wonderful confusion of excited lambs escaping briefly the maternal leash, and of mothers frantically trying to put them back on the leash. All sorted in time: Meet and greetReturning this afternoon with some long-awaited mineral lick, it was lovely to see Cephas (at right) sitting near his grandmother with her boys Joseph and Benedict. Extended familyThe sunshine was very popular. Sunbathing was order of the day. Sonny and Cher slept through most of my visit: Sonny and CherJoseph and Benedict showed already signs of being scallywags, trespassing on other mothers and then sampling the mineral lick when they thought no one was looking: Sprung!The two eldest, Alban and Bartholomew, seemed lost in contemplation of the sun among the molehills, and I thought I might get quite close for a promo shot: ContentBut I was spotted and cast a disdainful look: SprungMeanwhile the new boys were finding their legs and learning the art of brotherly love: Brothers for lifeIn light of this preponderance of boys, 8 out of 9 lambs in total, surely there is a clear omen discernible. This is a near-certain sign that the next pope will be male. You heard it here first.

12 thoughts on “A novena and an omen

  1. Petrus says:

    Salve Pater,

    “This is a near certain sign that the next pope will be male ..”

    Well, I hope you are right ! The last thing we need just now is a papessa ! No doubt there are some in the secular media who are even now sharpening their pencils to write, or re-write, the story of “Pope Joan” !

    Pax et bonum

    Petrus

    Like

  2. jacqueline says:

    ah absolutely heavenly….

    Like

  3. Fr Hugh says:

    Amen! Just looking at your site on Viktor Ullman. Fascinating.

    Like

  4. I saved reading this for a sort of “dessert” when I needed an uplift – and you didn’t disappoint. You write so beautifully – I got a little trip to the barnyard! Also, I’m childish enough to want to pick my “favorite” of your flock, and it has to be Alban. (Though Sonny and Cher are both adorable…..and I find myself wondering about THEIR names!)

    Like

    • Fr Hugh says:

      Annie – welcome back! What a compliment – my writing as a dessert. Thank you. (Cue blushes)

      Alban is a lovely little fellow, and his tail has been the first to drop off so he looks a noble little fellow indeed at the moment. He is getting quite brave and will nibble at my clothes without any qualms. Sonny and Cher – well I had to show that I was not ALWAYS pious. The entertainers were the first couple to come into my head on the day (with names that I had not already used in the last few years). You can approve the lambs without approving their namesakes!

      It is a bleak day here. The next sunny one I shall take a few more pictures.

      Blessings!

      Like

Leave a Reply

